Hot pepper plant sales end, harvest begins. Setting the world on fire

 

As I stepped into the chilehead world via social media from our small city in Oregon I instantly noticed how fast things were spicing up.

 At that time the Naga viper was the hottest chili pepper in the World, a pepper created in the United Kingdom by grower Gerald Fowler. I started joining forums and groups all over social media to become more informed on these “hottest peppers in the world” and little did I know I would become completely consumed with pepper plants, rare and exotic hot pepper seeds and the unforgettable YouTubers hurting them selves just to claim they ate the hottest pepper in the world.

So what did I do? I jumped right on the spicy train just like every other thrill seeking heat junky like me did. I became hypnotized and overwhelmed by all of these varieties from all over the world. Naga Viper chili, Infinity chili, Bhut Jolokia AKA Ghost pepper and the Trinidad 7 Pot pepper (my personal favorite) Little did I know I would soon become a thorn in the side of some of the growers and suppliers of these superhot peppers especially when I announced Fords fiery foods and plants would start shipping rare and exotic pepper plants nation wide.

My 2013 hot pepper plant sales are coming to an end and I must say I was overwhelmed at times. Ford’s did way better then expected not having a functioning website and just relying off of Facebook, Craigslist, EBay, The hot pepper.com and the most valuable of them all, Word of mouth.

With plant sales ending and pepper harvest right around the corner we are looking forward to a few varieties that are exclusive to Fords fiery foods and plants.

Brazilian Ghost pepper is in the #1 contender spot. A 3-way cross between A Ghost pepper crossed with 7 Pot Douglah crossed a Trinidad scorpion pepper. This badass pepper was created by a grower friend of mine in South America and in its second generation.

The next is a much anticipated variety called the Trinidad Moruga Chocolate scorpion. Ford’s currently has two strains of this variety growing, one from Grant Hustler of http://junglerain.com.au/ and another from Raphael Alber of http://www.chili-pepper.ch/

Next is the Infinaga. A very mean cross between an Infinity chili and a black naga. This variety is in its 3rd generation and has the potential to be the meanest, craziest looking pepper EVER. Stay tuned for more details and photos as our 2012-2013 hot pepper grow season unfold.

 

Leave a comment